Return to site

Committees get down to business

Many of the Assembly's Committees will meet for the first time this week. Here's how they are shaping up.

For those watchers of Welsh politics who have missed the in-depth scrutiny provided by the Assembly's Committee System, the wait is over.

AMs have now approved 13 new committees, appointed Chairs and scheduled their first meetings.

There will be 6 specialist committees, required by the Parliament’s Standing Orders:

· Constitutional and Legislative Affairs Committee

· Committee for the Scrutiny of the First Minister

· Finance Committee

· Petitions Committee

· Public Accounts Committee

· Standards of Conduct Committee

There are also 7 policy & legislation committees:

· Children, Young People & Education Committee

· Climate Change, Environment and Rural Affairs Committee

· Culture, Welsh Language and Communications Committee

· Economy, Infrastructure and Skills Committee

· Equality, Local Government and Communities Committee

· Health, Social Care and Sport Committee

· Reserve Policy and Legislation Committee (which will consider things referred to it by the the Business Committee)

Interested in how these compare to the Fourth Assembly’s Committees? Check out our earlier blog.

A new system for appointing Committee Chairs was used. The positions were divided up among the parties with contested seats subject to election by a secret ballot.

The following appointments were made:

Children, Young People and Education- Lynne Neagle (Torfaen)(Lab)

Climate Change, Environment and Rural Affairs- Mark Reckless (South Wales East)(UKIP)

Culture, Welsh Language and Communications - Bethan Jenkins (South Wales West)(PC)

Economy, Infrastructure and Skills - Russell George (Montgomeryshire)(Con)

Equality, Local Government and Communities - John Griffiths (Newport East)(Lab)

Health, Social Care and Sport - Dai Lloyd (South Wales West)(PC)

Reserve Policy and Legislation - David Rees (Aberavon)(Lab)

Constitutional and Legislative Affairs - Huw Irranca-Davies (Ogmore)(Lab)

Petitions - Mike Hedges (Swansea East)(Lab)

Scrutiny of the First Minister - Deputy Presiding Officer (Ann Jones)

Standards of Conduct - Jayne Bryant (Newport West)(Lab)

Public Accounts - Nick Ramsay (Monmouth)(Con)

Finance - Simon Thomas (Mid & West Wales)(PC)

Membership of Committees will be confirmed on Tuesday 5th July with meetings beginning on Wednesday 6th July. The first meetings are expected to be held mostly in private as AMs discuss the operation of the Committees and their initial work programmes.  

Need to keep track of what's being discussed in committees? newsdirect wales is a political monitoring service. We watch all proceedings and notify our clients of any relevant discussion. If you would like a free trial of our monitoring services, please call us on 02920 090693.  

All Posts

Almost done…

We just sent you an email. Please click the link in the email to confirm your subscription!

OKSubscriptions powered by Strikingly